The Grumpy Humanist

mix equal parts news, diary, gossip, and grump

I (heart) Wedding Hooplah 27 June, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — feliza @ 9:20 am

Am I a bad feminist? Or am I just a good aesthete? I think weddings can beautiful–dresses, cakes, everything. When done right, it’s a work of art. Unfortunately, all of this grandeur takes a lot (and I mean a lot) of greenbacks.

namrita-roman.jpg

The always-beautiful Love Made Visible posted these stunning pics of a real wedding–this is what I mean about “art.” But what price is too high for this kind of grandeur?

Nothing chaps my ass more than when people drop ten grand on a wedding, all the while fussing about the rings, the dresses, the cakes, the center-pieces and totally forgetting about their future spouse. It’s an easy trap to fall into–having gone through wedding planning myself, I can tell you from experience that the wedding industry is clouded with a palpable sense of materialism. It’s very easy to lose track of why you’re getting married in the first place.

Hopefully, one is walking down the aisle because of that strange “love”-type feeling. Too often, however, women get caught up in this bizarre-o princess fantasy and lose all touch with financial reality.

At least the above bride and groom can afford this lavishness (see article.) However, I still don’t think I would feel right dumping that much cash on a one-day event. I suppose that’s a tricky thing to say because, really, I could have skipped my own ceremony altogether if I’m so down with the “simple life.”

Why then, with all my scorn of high-priced wedding bullshit would I post these pics on my own blog? Aren’t I just feeding into the consumerist hype?

Maybe. I guess.  But in my naive way, I think it’s possible to see these images not as cultural statements, but just as beautiful pictures.

 

Leave a Reply

