The Grumpy Humanist

mix equal parts news, diary, gossip, and grump

Ladies and Gentlemen of the Jury, Exhibit T&A 27 June, 2007

Filed under: Adriana Dominguez,Law,Law Students,Nudity — feliza @ 12:41 pm

“Lawyers can be boring,” said the naked girl bouncing for the camera.

Adriana Dominguez, law student by day
Adriana Dominguez, law student by day

Ok, I admit this is old news (if you look here, you can even see an old comment of mine). But as a future law student myself, I just had to weigh in on this now that I’ve got my very own blog.

 

For those of you who didn’t know, the quick version is that Adrianna Dominguez, a third-year student at Brooklyn Law got naked for Playboy TV not too long ago and is now shocked that 1) people found out about it, and 2) her career prospects might be affected.

I’ll skip the usual finger-wagging about professionalism and what-not. We’ve all heard it (or a variation of it) before.

Did she do anything illegal? No, of course not. But it’s not very smart, now is it? There’s some talk about Dominguez not being able to pass the bar as a result (something about Character and Fitness) but it’s all just speculation. I think that if she can pass the test, Dominguez should be allowed to practice law–good luck to her on finding a firm that will hire her.

Here’s what Dominguez has to say for her own defense: “I’m not that shy, so it wouldn’t bother me if, say, the opposing counsel has seen these pictures of me. I wouldn’t care.””

Good for you, kiddo. But the thing is, it’s not about whether or not you would care, it’s whether or not your employers and your peers do. I wish it wasn’t that way, but it is. I know some of you are going to think I should just lighten up–thanks, but no thanks. I’d rather be sure that I can practice the law after graduation, instead.

 

Leave a Reply

