The Grumpy Humanist

mix equal parts news, diary, gossip, and grump

But I thought my daemon would be cooler… 28 June, 2007

As you know, I’m currently reading Philip Pullman’s The Golden Compass, the first book in the very popular His Dark Materials Trilogy. In December, the movie version is hitting US theatres and looks to be very cool, indeed.

Daniel Craig as Lord Asriel

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Pullman’s work, a “daemon” is a sort of outer manifestation of a person’s soul which takes on a specific animal form that represents their true inner-self.

Today I went to the film’s official website and took the test to find out what animal best represented my inner being…

This is Brynn, my daemon.

black-crow.jpg
Caw, caw, bitches!

According to the test, Brynn is my daemon because the crow signifies being “modest, humble, assertive, spontaneous, and responsible.”

I guess crows are kind of cool and mysterious, right? I don’t know–I’m not really a bird-lover. I was kind of hoping for maybe like a cougar, lion, or fox. Basically, the sexy animals. Oh well. At least i can be consoled by the fact that black is a very flattering color.

 

7 Responses to “But I thought my daemon would be cooler…”

  1. Di Says:

    hate to gloat but … I got a lion deamon. Seems I am modest, responsible, assertive, sociable and a couple of other things I forgot. Goes with the zodiac sign, I guess …

  2. Jill Says:

    My daemon is a lion, can’t remember what it’s called

  3. Katie Says:

    Mine was a tiger. I heart tigers đŸ˜€

  4. Christine Says:

    My Daemon is Brynn the Ermine . It means that I am:shy,solitary,spontaneous,relaxed and inquisitive.

  5. Chrissy Says:

    Hiya. My Daemon is Artemis the Ermine because I am “spontaneous, solitary, fickle, a leader, and assertive”

  6. Roni Says:

    i can’t find the test, where is it? O_o

  7. PetrORAMMAADOLELP Says:

    Who is not hard to tell me how to set a bookmark in the profile , but what then e is obtained ?


Leave a Reply

